The Christmas Tag

Hello everyone!

I really wanted to add a festive twist to blogging this month and while I was originally going to do Tom Fletcher’s 15 Festive Favourites (which he did on his Youtube channel) I found this one on Lulu’s blog (here), and I thought it was better suited to text! Without further ado, here is my Christmas Tag

One

What is your favourite Christmas film?

“A Muppet’s Christmas Carol” is hands-down my favourite and a must watch with the family every year, so that is definitely top of the list. Another film that I watch around this time of year is “The Holiday”. It’s Christmasssy and cheesy; what more could you want?!

Two

Do you open your presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?

There’s a tradition in my house where we’re all allowed to open one present on Christmas Eve. Everything else must wait until Christmas morning.

Three

Do you have a favourite Christmas memory?

When my Grandad was still alive, we used to go to my Aunt’s house Christmas evening. Every year Grandad (after maybe a couple of drinks 😉 ) would sing Céad Míle Fáilte (a traditional Irish song). This isn’t really specific to one year but I love that memory nonetheless.

Four

What is your favourite Christmas food?

I have to say my favourites aren’t particularly festive- it’s just the time of year we are guaranteed to have them in our house! Yorkshire puddings and trifle are my favourites, but not together (obviously). Every Christmas Eve., I’m given the task of making the trifle and I have to say, it’s pretty damn good.

Five

What is your favourite Christmas gift?

I have gotten some fab presents over the years, but I don’t think I can pick a standalone favourite of all time. I do however love receiving books for Christmas, especially is someone has put some serious thought into getting one that they think I will like, and not just one off Tesco’s bestsellers selection.

Six

 What is your favourite Christmas scent?

Yankee Candle are absolutely killing it will the great range of Christmas scents they have. I do love Candy Cane Lane at the moment but my favourite Christmassy scent can be found all through my house starting with the kitchen. This is due to Dad baking his locally famous Christmas cakes (he even made one for Munster and Ireland rugby player Paul O’Connell- Shameless namedrop!) The smell is a mix of fruit and spices and general yumminess. These cakes are only for Christmas but are in popular demand all year round.

Seven

Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?

Christmas last year was a bit different due to my sister spending her Christmas Eve in Ennis and I fell asleep on the couch because I had been working late the night before, but hopefully we will get back on track this year. All the years  before that my sister, my mam and I go to mass in the evening while my dad and my brother are left to hold down the fort (after I have made the trifle during the afternoon) and we get to open one present that evening and we also get lovely new cosy pajamas every year.

Eight

What tops your tree?

For years we had this angel which had a creepiness to it not unlike that of porcelain dolls, but in the past few years we’ve started using this really glittery star that is probably borderline tacky but it is the bee’s knees.

Nine

Asa kid, what was the one gift you asked for but never received?

I genuinely can’t think of anything serious so if this had been the case the thing I was looking for obviously wasn’t life-changing. I think the worst it got was not specifying what colour Nintendo DS Lite I wanted and ended up with a pink one- shocking! I didn’t burst into flames or anything when I picked it up though so it obviously wasn’t that bad. Still have that a good 8 years and it’s working perfectly.

Ten

What is your favourite Christmas song?

My favourite Christmas song (as opposed to carol) is “2000 Miles” by The Pretenders. Chrissie Hynde’s voice is magical. This of course is fllowed by the well-loved “Fairytale of New York” by The Pogues and Kristy MacColl. My favourite Christmas carol would have to be either “Carol of the Bells” or “The Huron Carol”. The latter is really beautiful if you can find a good version of it but most of the ones I’ve found have a quicker time signature than the 3/4 time which I personally think suits it best. The closest thing to a “good” version of it is by The Five Fifths on Youtube.

Eleven

What’s the best part of Christmas for you?

Generally, I prefer the build-up to Christmas more than the actual day, but this year I’m looking forward to spending some quality time with my sister and I’m also looking forward to Ryan coming down from Belfast on Christmas day to see me (yes he is a sweetheart). Hopefully the first of many. 🙂

So, that’s my Christmas Tag! Feel free to answer the questions yourself in the comments, or if you’ve done the Christmas Tag yourself, leave me a link and I’ll be sure to check it out!

Until next time,

Laura

Leave a Reply

