Don’t Force It

Hello everyone!

After writing a new blog post a couple of days ago, I was really in the mood for writing, so I thought I’d try a second one.

It didn’t go well.

Since my blog is still quite new, I decided to experiment: a favourites blog. I quite like watching these sort of vlogs on Youtube, so I figured how hard could it be to make my own?

Incredibly so.

I tried. I didn’t get very far but I did give it a go. It just felt so weird and not me and false.

One thing that being a creative-minded person has taught me is that even though creating is important, things should never be forced. When you force things they aren’t genuine and this is evident to those who are familiar with your work through whichever medium it is that you use. Even on a personal level it feels wrong, like you’re trying to convince yourself that this style is yours, when it’s not.

This has been an experience that has offered me a lesson, so it wasn’t a complete waste of time.

Moral of the story: just because you like to read a certain type of blog doesn’t mean you can write like that; but, just because that genre doesn’t suit you it doesn’t mean that your work in inadequate- just different.

Until next time,

Laura

Leave a Reply

