New Beginnings: Back to College

Hello everyone!

It is strange to go more than a week without blogging since I became so used to it during BEDA (Blog Every Day: August). It has left me feeling like I should’ve been blogging more- which is probably a good thing. 

Today marked the start of a chapter in my life: university. 15 years of formal education under my belt and here I am, preparing myself for at least four more. But hey, at least at this stage I have a fairly good idea of what I like doing and hopefully that won’t change after all this time. 

For people who are new here, I’m just after starting in L.S.A.D.- Limerick School of Art & Design. Right now, I’m hoping to pursue graphic design (formally known as Visual Communications- Vis. Comm. for short) but that could change within this first semester, I’m trying to keep an open mind!

For the first 12 weeks or so, the 1st year students are given free reign of all 8 disciplines the college has to offer, and so I’ll be able to choose what medium I use for my work and what I’m good at. This is one of the reasons I was more inclined to go to L.S.A.D. as opposed to other Art colleges. I think that this time is so crucial and making a good decision that is right for you not only now, but in the future is so important. I love that this college allows you to explore media that you may not have previously been subjected to. It’s one of the most clever ideas I have come across in a university. I’m looking forward to trying out all of these new disciplines.

With the good comes the bad, and the part of going to art college which I love to hate is buying supplies. I was pretty fortunate that I did the one-year art portfolio last year though as I had quite a bit of the materials required for this year since then. But alas, there were still things I needed to buy. Don’t get me wrong, I love getting new art supplies; from the crisp blank pages of a new sketchbook, to markers that haven’t yet their colours muddied- the part I hate is the price! With 15% off, I still managed to spend €80 on a handful of supplies. There were no sketchbooks, pencils or pastels included in this. It was mostly just paints (the good Daler-Rowney kind) and some other “essentials” that I will hopefully get the use out of!

 

Some of the aforementioned supplies

Some of the aforementioned supplies

There are also the astronomical fees (these are incredibly small in comparison to the fees in the U.S. and Canada for example). I’m hoping to get a grant for these, otherwise I face being in debt for all of my 20s/30s which would be no craic. So I’m crossing my fingers… and toes and eyes and arms and legs!!

IMG_2786

Today also meant meeting people from my course last year- it’s always good to see familiar faces at this sorta thing.

Yesterday, I thought this week was gonna be terrifying for me, now I’m pretty okay with it 🙂

Until next time,

Laura

2 thoughts on “New Beginnings: Back to College

Leave a Reply

