#BEDA August 5th: A Vivid Memory

Canada, 2011

In June 2011 I went on holidays to Canada with my family. During this time, Mary and I went on a fishing trip with my cousin Richie and his fiancée Sheri. The trip involved five night of camping on an island in Lewis Lake (I hope I’m remembering that name correctly!) and it was absolutely awesome.

Lewis Lake

Lewis Lake

This was my first time properly camping and my first time going fishing ever and it was such a great experience. We left their pickup truck on the mainland and took the boat across to the island. The lake was really out of the way so there were hardly any other people there, if any at all, I think I recall seeing 2 or 3 other people in all our time there.

We went fishing every day and every day we ate what we caught (pickerel for those interested)

There was this absolute calm over the boat when we were out fishing, none of us felt the need to fill the silence with idle talk and just being surrounded by nature was fantastic- I’m a city kid so I was loving the contrast that I always find when we go to Canada. No phones buzzing to fill the air with unwanted distractions.

A couple of the days we were there I caught the first fish, which was a MASSIVE deal (not) but I still remember the winning feeling that came along with it. One day we caught absolute whoppers. There was a fight to not leave these fish get away but it was worth it.

Big fish & Richie's hands!

Big fish & Richie’s hands!

Every evening we had a campfire and talked. We don’t get to see Richie and Sheri too often and it was just great to have 5 nights of just undiluted bonding with them and my sister. I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Campfire was always going before it got dark

Campfire was always going before it got dark

The beach

The beach

There’s my memory! Looking forward to reading yours 🙂

Until Next Time,

Laura

6 thoughts on “#BEDA August 5th: A Vivid Memory

  1. alas3lads (@alas3lads) says:

    Sounds like a wonderful trip! I have never really been on a “real” camping trip and while I don’t think it would be my thing, I would still like to do it someday. My husband and three sons love to fish so they would be all for a nice camping excursion. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

